Board Of Directors

The Children's Trust Board of Directors

The Children’s Trust is led by a 33-member volunteer board of directors designed to include a broad representation of leadership from across Miami-Dade with varied levels of expertise. Its makeup is officially codified by Florida statute and many seats are term limited. Members fall into the following categories:

Board Member Affiliation
Lily de Moya Gubernatorial Appointee
Tiombe Bisa Kendrick-Dunn Gubernatorial Appointee
Marissa Joy Leichter, Esq. Gubernatorial Appointee
Miguel Balsera, Ph.D. Gubernatorial Appointee
Board Member Affiliation
Gilda Ferradaz Miami-Dade and Monroe Department of Children and Families Regional Director
Nancy Lawther, Ph.D. President of the Miami-Dade County PTA-PTSA
Hon. Orlando A. Prescott Chief Judge of Juvenile Division of the Eleventh Circuit, or designee
Magaly Abrahante, Ed.D. Representative from the Miami-Dade County Public Schools
Hon. Carlos Gimenez Mayor of Miami-Dade County or non-voting designee
Nelson Hincapie Designee appointed by the Mayor of Miami-Dade County
Esther Jacobo State attorney designee for Miami-Dade County
Board Member Affiliation
Daniel Bagner, Ph.D. Representative of Florida International University, appointed by the President
Mary Donworth Member appointed by the Board of the United Way of Miami-Dade County
Rep. Nicholas Duran Member of the State of Florida Legislature appointed by the Miami-Dade legislative delegation chair
Mindy Grimes-Festge Representative of the United Teachers of Dade
Kenneth C. Hoffman Member appointed by the MCCJ
Pamela Hollingsworth Member from the Early Learning Coalition of Miami-Dade/Monroe
Frank Manning Designee of the Circuit Manager of the Department of Juvenile Justice
Susan Neimand, Ph.D. Representative of Miami-Dade College, appointed by Dr. Eduardo Padron
Marta Pérez, Ph.D. Member appointed by the School Board of Miami-Dade County
Hon. Isaac Salver Elected official appointed by the League of Cities representing the residents of a municipality located within Miami-Dade County
Xavier Suarez Member appointed by the chair of the Miami-Dade County Board of County Commissioners
Mark Trowbridge Member selected by a coalition of the local chambers of commerce
Rita Vega Student Government Association
Karen Weller Designee of Miami-Dade County Public Health Department
Board Member Affiliation
Laurie Weiss Nuell Member At-Large
Steve Hope Member At-Large
Rodester Brandon Member At-Large
Antonia Eyssallenne, M.D., Ph.D. Member At-Large